Visa Lottery

Exclusive List Of Countries Eligible for the 2023 DV Visa Lottery

List Of Countries Eligible for the 2023 DV Visa Lottery

Diversity Visa Lottery Program is an annual program run by the U.S. Department of State to issue visas to nationals of countries with historically lower rates of immigration to the United States.

The program is often called the Green Card Lottery, but you do not get a Green Card when winning the Diversity Visa Lottery.

Suppose you win the DV lottery and are selected for further processing in the Diversity Visa Program. In that case, you and your immediate family members may apply for a visa that allows you to live and work in the United States permanently.

The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (DV Program) makes up to 50,000 immigrant visas available annually, drawn from random selection among all entries to individuals from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. The DV Program is administered by the U.S. Department of State (DOS). The DOS selects winners for DVs through a lottery process.

The green card lottery, also known as the Diversity Immigrant Visa, is a lottery run by the United States government to obtain a Permanent Resident Card. The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program was founded in 1990 to attract immigrants from a more excellent range of nations to come to the United States. The number of diversity visas was capped at 55,000 every fiscal year, but this was reduced to 50,000 in 2000. The scheme is known as the ” diversity lottery because visa holders are chosen randomly from a pool of qualified applicants; the scheme is known as the “diversity lottery.”

Winning this lottery does not ensure admission to the United States, but it does provide the person the chance to apply for a Diversity Visa.

List Of Countries Eligible for the 2022 DV Visa Lottery


The diversity lottery is open to nationals of low-admission countries, defined as those with less than 50,000 natives admitted to the United States in the previous five years. In general, residents of China, India, and Mexico are ineligible to participate in the lottery. The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) divides the world into six regions: Europe, Africa, Asia, Oceania, North and South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean. The annual diversity visa allotment for each region is calculated by USCIS using recent immigration statistics and an allocation algorithm.

The applicant or the applicant's spouse must be a native of one of the qualified countries to be eligible for a diversity visa. The person must also be eligible to enter the United States under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). A high school diploma (or equivalent) is also required, with at least two years of recent qualifying job experience. Each year, eligible persons have a limited opportunity to apply electronically.

Countries Eligible for the 2023 DV Visa Lottery

The DV Lottery 2023 is open to the following nations. The countries listed below are subject to change because the list is revised every year in September.

Middle East

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel*, Japan, Jordan*, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, North Korea, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria*, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, and Macau S.A.R. Asia: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Despite China's absence from the lottery, Hong Kong S.A.R., Macau S.A.R., and Taiwan qualified. Bangladeshis, Chinese mainlanders, Indians, Pakistanis, South Koreans, Filipinos, and Vietnamese are not eligible.

*Persons born in regions administered by Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt before June 1967 are charged to Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt, accordingly. The lottery is open to these individuals.


Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Nigeria is the only African country that does not qualify for the lottery.


Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (including overseas dependents and components), Estonia, Finland, France (including overseas dependents and features), Germany, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands ( Portugal, Russia, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, and Yugoslavia are among the countries represented. The United Kingdom is not eligible to participate in the green card lottery. Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena, and Turks & Caicos dependents components of the United Kingdom. Northern Ireland is omitted because it qualifies and is mentioned among the qualified countries.

The Bahamas are located in North America. This year's diversity lottery does not include Canada.

Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand (including overseas dependents and components), Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Western Samoa are all part of Oceania.

Antigua and Barbuda, Honduras, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Grenada, Guyana, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, and Venezuela are all located in South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. The lottery excludes Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, and Peru.

1 2Next page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button